India National Cricket Team Coaches Updated February 2024

In the sport of cricket, India is one of the best teams. The presence of top-tier players on the team is one of the main causes for this. India has consistently produced some of the greatest players in both bowling and batting history. Sachin Tendulkar, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Anil Kumble, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Mohammad Azharuddin, and numerous others come to mind. Without the involvement of India National Cricket Team Coaches, this would not have been possible.

India received test status and was granted full membership in May 1926. After England, Australia, South Africa, the West Indies, and New Zealand, India was the sixth team to be admitted as a full member. In terms of Indian cricket history, the real watershed year was 1983, when Kapil Dev led India to victory at the World Cup. Then MS Dhoni led India to glory in 2007 and 2011, winning the T20 World Cup and ODI World Cup respectively.

Former Indian players have frequently gone on to lead their country’s national team as coaches. While a head coach typically serves for two years, lengthier stays have been known to occur. So let’s have a look at the list of Indian team head coaches over time.

The India National Cricket Team Coaches are here as under:

PR Man Singh between 1983 to 1987

P R Man Singh

When India defeated the West Indies in the 1983 ODI World Cup final, they made history. The most famous incident in Indian cricket history was that. Few had also predicted that India won’t even make the top four. But what follows is history. All the guys put up their best effort, and it was a true team effort. But India’s coach, PR Man Singh, was one person who never received much praise. In the 1983 World Cup, he served as the Indian team’s manager. India’s 1987 World Cup run to the semifinals was coached by Man Singh as well.

John Wright between 2000 to 2005

John Wright

John Wright was the first foreign coach of the India national cricket team. He served as the head coach from 2000 to 2005 and played a key role in the team’s resurgence during this period. Under his leadership, the team reached the final of the 2003 Cricket World Cup and won several major series, including a Test series victory in Australia for the first time in more than 30 years.

Lalchand Rajput between 2007 to 2008

Lalchand Rajput

India made it to the finals of the 2003 ODI World Cup under the leadership of Sourav Ganguly, and John Wright was the head coach of India. But in the very next ODI World Cup in 2007, India were kicked out of the tournament in the group stage itself. Rahul Dravid was the skipper, and Greg Chappell was the head coach. Thus, India sent a totally young team to the 2007 T20 World Cup led by MS Dhoni. Lalchand Rajput was sent with the team as the head coach. But who would have thought that that team would rewrite history? India won that T20 World Cup, and MS Dhoni and Lalchand Rajput registered their names as two of the most successful captains and head coaches in Indian cricket.

Gary Kirsten between 2008 to 2011

Gary Kirsten

After Lalchand Rajput, the former South African captain, Gary Kirsten, took over the charge as the Indian head coach. The biggest challenge for him was to defend the T20 title in 2009, but India couldn’t do that. The next big event in the game was the 2011 ODI World Cup, happening in India. So it was a great chance for the Indian cricket team, led by MS Dhoni, to make it big at home. And that’s what happened. India lifted the 2011 World Cup and became the first team to win the title on home soil. Gary Kirsten cemented his reputation as India’s greatest coach with this achievement. 

Ravi Shastri between 2017 to 2021

Ravi Shastri. India National Cricket Team Coach

Ravi Shastri has been the head coach of the India national team since 2017. He is one of the India National Cricket Team Coaches who represented India in international competition and has also worked as a commentator and analyst. Under his leadership, the team has continued to enjoy success, including a Test series victory in Australia for the first time in more than 70 years. Shastri is known for his emphasis on hard work and discipline and has been praised for his ability to build a positive team culture.

Virat Kohli was one of the most aggressive captains that the game has ever witnessed. Under his leadership, the Indian cricket team achieved many things that were not possible prior to him. And one of the reasons that he was able to express himself was the support of the head coach, Ravi Shastri, during his time. Shastri was always an animated character when it came to the game, both as a player and as a captain. He, along with Virat, totally changed the mindset of the Indian team. Shastri started his tenure after Anil Kumble stepped down as the head coach in 2017. Since then, India has seen many incredible performances. Although India didn’t win any major ICC tournament under the coaching of Shastri, India stayed as the No. 1 test team for a consecutive six years during that period. Shastri stepped down after the 2021 T20 World Cup.

Rahul Dravid from 2021 till date

Rahul Dravid. India National Cricket Team Coach
Rahul Dravid. India National Cricket Team Coach

Rahul Sharad Dravid is an Indian cricket coach and former captain of the Indian national team, currently serving as its head coach. Prior to his appointment to the senior men’s national team, Dravid was the Head of Cricket at the National Cricket Academy, and the head coach of the India Under-19 and India A teams.

Do you know The Father of Cricket? Not many people are aware of this interesting question.

India National Cricket Team Coaches List Updated

Indian National Cricket Team Coaches

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.